Completing the Brown Menswear Ensemble + Finished Photos

I can see one of Shakespeare’s disguised-as-a-man romantic comedy heroines wearing this! I am glad to see that the photos were taken outside. Inside photos work very well, but an outside setting turns the dial to eleven.

Angela Clayton's Costumery & Creations

DSC_5288resize2This is the final post about making my brown menswear inspired ensemble. Part one went up almost ten months ago, and part two was posted a couple months ago. Today I’m sharing how I made the tunic and hat, along with some photos of the finished costume!

I started on this tunic ages ago, so I don’t remember the dimensions and measurements I used. But here are how the pieces looked after being cut out.

I used a lightweight cotton gauze for the tunic. I absolutely love the feel of this material, and it’s ridiculously wonderful to work. Unfortunately it’s delicate, so it isn’t a great choice for undergarments that will be worn a lot. I still chose to use it since I had some around and it was the perfect shade of off white.

DSC_3681

The first thing I did was fold rectangles in half and gather the top edge…

View original post 620 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

