David Bruce: Violence Against Women

At approximately 2 a.m. on 15 June 2014, a white man attempted to rape a woman in Kelvingrove Park in the west end of Glasgow, Scotland. Fortunately, Abdull Oun, a 27-year-old doorman, heard the woman screaming for help while he was jogging in the park with his puppy. Although Mr. Abdull was born in Tripoli, Libya, he has lived in Glasgow for the past 13 years. He ran to the rescue and used a flying kick to knock out the would-be rapist. The woman, who did not wish to be identified, said about Mr. Oun, “He is a hero, a gentleman, and my savior. It’s like he woke me up from a very bad dream. I just wanted to send out a big thank you for his heroism and hope there are more people like him in this world.” The woman had been at Kushion nightclub, in Bath Street, with friends, but she decided to walk home alone. The would-be rapist jumped her while she was in the park. She said, “I tried to fight my way out, but he was too strong. I screamed, but he put his hands on my mouth. I bit him and managed to scream again, yelling, ‘Help!’ Suddenly a chap wearing red shorts appeared from nowhere with a little black puppy. He fly-kicked the beast off me, which completely knocked him out.” Mr. Oun wanted to call the police, but the woman convinced him not to because she was afraid that her family would worry. The would-be rapist then regained consciousness and ran away. Mr. Oun flagged down a cab for the woman. She said about Mr. Oun, “He saw my dress was ripped and gave me his jacket.” His driving license was inside his running jacket, and later she returned his jacket to him. Mr. Oun said, “I don’t feel like I am a hero. It’s a man’s job to protect the innocent. If I see a person in danger, then I will intervene. I would not want to ignore it and then read the next day that a woman had been raped or murdered.” He said that when he heard the two screams for help, “I jumped the gate and ran into the park. I could see the man had the woman pinned on the ground. I fly-kicked him in the face and knocked him out.” When Mr. Oun intervened, the would-be rapist was unfastening his trousers. When a reporter for “The Daily Record” (UK) asked Mr. Oun if he had a message for the would-be rapist, Mr. Oun said, “He is a coward and a man with no morals. I won’t forget his face.”

In early 2014, Dale Green, a 46-year-old African-American man, rescued a 19-year-old woman from a violent sexual predator in Harlem in New York City. He heard the woman screaming outside his apartment. Mr. Green said, “I kept hearing, ‘Please no! God no! F***ing no! Don’t do this! Don’t do this!’ I had been watching the Olympics. I thought it was a lovers’ quarrel, a squabble outside, but they didn’t pass by,” so he looked out the window. He said, “I saw this guy pick this Asian girl up and put her on the ground between two cars. I can’t believe somebody tried to rape somebody in that spot. It’s right out in the open. She was saying, ‘No, no, take my keys.’ It seemed like he was trying to hit her really hard, so I started dialing 911.” While on the phone, he opened the window and asked the woman, “Are you OK?” She shouted, “No! He’s trying to rape me!” Mr. Green ran to her while giving the 911 operator a description of the sexual predator. The suspect fled, and the woman ran to safety. A law enforcement source for “The New York Post” said, “He chased the perp right toward the police. His description of the suspect and his direction of travel, toward the Madison Avenue Bridge, is really what helped us get him.” The suspect was arrested and charged with attempted rape.

On 6 October 2015, Kaitlyn Regehr, a 30-year-old writer and documentary filmmaker, was riding the 207 public bus towards Acton, London, England, when a man grabbed her butt. Fortunately, a Good Samaritan stood up for her. The following day, Ms. Regehr posted this on Facebook and Instagram: “To the man on the 207 bus towards Acton last night (the tall, dark, and dapper one with the beard), Thank you for saying something when that man grabbed me. Thank you for insisting that it was not acceptable. Most of all, thank you for asking him about the women in his life, his mother, his sister… You said, ‘She could be your sister. She is someone’s sister’, and in doing so you made me a person. You made us a community. I thank you not just because you stood up for me, or because you made me feel safe, but because on your transit home — in this big, potentially anonymous city — you humanised assault. You didn’t turn away. You took a stand. You said something. Because you were right. I am someone’s sister. We all are. And us kids should all stand up for each other.” She also posted a photo of herself holding a sign with the words “Thank You!” on it. Ms. Regehr, who reported the assault to the Metropolitan Police, said, “I just spoke to them and they are looking at CCTV [Closed-Circuit Television], and in a way — because I didn’t see the attack — I said to the police I felt silly reporting it. But the police were adamant they want to take a stand against it, especially on public transport.”

On 8 February 2013, SofaPirat posted on YouTube a 26-second video that shows a hooligan harassing a woman. An unidentified hero comes up behind the hooligan and pulls the hooligan’s pants down. The hooligan pulls his pants up and leaves. Watch the video on YouTube: <http://tinyurl.com/plvqrf9>.

“I just want to sleep. A coma would be nice. Or amnesia. Anything, just to get rid of this, these thoughts, whispers in my mind. Did he rape my head, too?” ― Laurie Halse Anderson, Speak

© 2016, David Bruce, All Rights Reserved

The Good News: This is Wise Up! weekly column #1,002 for The Athens News in Athens, Ohio.

The Bad News: This is the last Wise Up! column. I have been laid off. Let’s hope The Athens News starts selling more ads so it can rehire me.

Download Resist Psychic Death: 250 Anecdotes, free, by David Bruce here:

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/97267

Romance Books by Brenda Kennedy (Some Free)

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/smoothie2003

Check out the rest of 

https://davidbruceblog.wordpress.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

