“In Honor of Father’s Day, What’s the Best Story You have Involving Your Dad?”

Here are some answers:

1) p[*]ssyforpresident wrote, “My dad and I are really close; my mom was kind of toxic to me when I was little. I had an eating disorder, and she kind of exacerbated it by always talking about how skinny other people were, saying ‘You sure you want to eat that?’ etc. We’d get into it all the time and she always denied I had a problem.

“When these things would happen, I’d find Hershey bars slid under my door/pillow/in a drawer next to my bed/etc. with nice notes talking about what a good job I’m doing keeping my room clean, doing well in school, and being a good person.

“Nowadays — I’m age 25 — he still fights for me whether it be medical issues, heartbreaks, etc., and he has always been in my corner. He’s the only person I could tell anything, and the only person who loves every bit of me. That kind of love is really special, coming to someone who has the tendency to blame herself for everything that goes wrong. He’s the best, and I hope he’s around as long as he can be with the medical issues he’s facing now.”

2) catsintinyshoes wrote, “My dad isn’t a very cuddly, affectionate type, and I’m not a daddy’s girl. But he always got me the best surprises. Once when I was in high school and having a rough go of it, he showed up unannounced, signed me out for the day, and drove me a couple of hours to Manhattan for a special tour at the Met and a fancy dinner. Completely for no reason; just because I was having a bad week.”

3) Little_Lion wrote, “When I was growing up, he always told me that if I was ever at a party or bar or anywhere, and had been drinking, that I should never drive — call him, and he would get me home. He’d drive wherever to pick me up, I would never be in trouble even if I was underage, or had broken curfew, or anything. Just call him and stay safe and trust him.

“So one night I went out with my friends — it was summer, so I was staying at my parents’ house, but the group had decided to go to the pub street in my college town (about an hour drive). About halfway through the night, I noticed that our DD [Designated Driver] was drinking. I asked him about it and he told me not to worry because he’d switched to beer like an hour ago.

“Now, I had an apartment within walking distance in that town, but my car was at my folks’ place along with most of my stuff — I was staying with them for about a month. But it seemed better to be stranded than to risk an hour drive back home with a drunken bozo. One of the other girls in the group ended up coming back with me, too, after I’d told everyone that I didn’t think the DD was sober (no one else cared — being 20 was awful).

“I called my dad, just to let him know why I wouldn’t be home that night. It was late so I left a voicemail. The next morning, he called and was outside of my apartment, ready to take us to breakfast. He’d taken off work to drive an hour and come get me, just like he always said he would.”

4) ageekyninja wrote, “I live with my mom and stepdad. My stepdad will not stop talking about how LGBT people are not right in the head, how they are very strange, etc., because of current political issues in America.

“This has been driving me insane. As someone who is bisexual, it makes me feel like a freak in my own home. I remember being genderqueer through most of my childhood. I wanted to be a boy, but kept it a secret. At 12 I began to feel love and attraction towards girls.

“‘Lucky’ for me, being bi, it has been easier to pretend to be straight. I would just date men because that was convenient to me. Nobody ever had to know. But I do like women. Like, a lot. It’s hard to keep something so basic to who I am secret.

“Since my stepdad has been talking so much sh[*]t, it has put more pressure on me to hide who I am at home … so I’ve been coming out to people outside of my home. I have to let the truth out somewhere or I will go insane. First I came out to my boyfriend, then my friends. People who were safe, who I knew would accept it. And they did. I even got a few ‘called it!’s.

“Today my [biological] dad came over to pick up my siblings and me to spend the weekend at his house (my parents are divorced). My mom and stepdad weren’t home. I just … couldn’t take it anymore. I instantly made a decision to come out to him, and I did.

“I met him in the living room and asked my 13-year-old sister to come in, too. That’s when I said I was bi. Dad honestly looked shocked. My sister didn’t look in the least bit surprised or like she cared. Actually she looked happy.

“I was pretty worried when I saw Dad’s expression. He looked like he just got in a car wreck. Then he said, ‘Does your boyfriend know? Is he ok with it?’

“Oh, god. What a relief. That’s all he was worried about. My dad loves my boyfriend.

“Then my sister had something to say, too.

“‘I’m not straight either.’

“I knew it. That’s why I wanted her to hear me confess to my dad. I had a vibe that she lacked interest in men. I thought my hiding my own sexuality was a poor example to her.

“She told us, ‘I have zero interest in dating or anything that comes with it. I really, really, believe I am asexual. I don’t like it when you guys talk about me getting a boyfriend or having kids because I just don’t want to do any of those things.’

“Holy sh[*]t, I never knew. I just thought maybe she liked girls or something. Whatever, I told her that was totally ok.

“My little sister and I wound up both explaining to Dad that this is how we have always been. It looked like it was a lot for Dad to take in, but as we got into the car, he said, ‘I want you guys to know it’s all ok. I love y’all no matter what.’

“Dad is the first family member I have told that I am bi, and I think he is the first person to whom my sister has EVER admitted that she thinks she is asexual.

“I can’t speak for my sister, but I cannot express what it means to me to be who I am in front of my family when I visit my dad, even if it’s just in one household. I feel so much saner. I am incredibly grateful that I have such a supportive dad, through me coming out, and all other aspects in life.”

5) seagullsensitive wrote, “When I was way younger, we used to get a holiday allowance, to buy toys and ice cream and stuff. Ten euros for three weeks or something, not a lot anyway. This one time I had almost run out near the end of week two. So I ran to the store, bought a package of Harry Potter candy with my last money and gave it to my dad.

“He still has that box of candy. He says he was immensely touched by that gesture and that it exemplified what kind of a kid I was — always giving my stuff away to make others happy. For him it’s a symbol of the pride he feels for me and how I turned out as an adult.

“My dad didn’t particularly want kids before he had any. But the moment I was born, he did a 180. He had a shirt that said ‘daddy of [my name],’ and he still uses the Diddle pen I gave him for his birthday way back, at work, no less. He has a mousemat with our family picture on it at work, he makes an effort to remember exams and important dates, and he regularly tells my brother and me how proud he is to be our father. He’s the most amazing dad I know.”

Source: peppermind, “In honour of Father’s day, what’s the best story you have involving your dad?” AskWomen. 19 June 2016

https://www.reddit.com/r/AskWomen/comments/4ot850/in_honour_of_fathers_day_whats_the_best_story_you/

http://tinyurl.com/jt7jcjq

Download free eBooks by David Bruce here:

https://davidbruceblog.wordpress.com/about-the-blogger/

Free PDF book for Mature Readers: Honey Badger Goes to Hell — and Heaven

https://davidbruceblog.wordpress.com/2014/09/29/free-book-honey-badger-goes-to-hell-and-heaven-for-mature-readers/

Check out the rest of 

https://davidbruceblog.wordpress.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

