Some Random Good Deeds

Sort of a Good Deed

Mimicking-hiccuping wrote this:

“I got mugged once in Glasgow as a young teenager. This is how the conversation went.

“‘I’m going to need whatever money you have on you, kid.’

“‘I got a £20 note, but I need it to get the train home.’

“‘How much is your ticket?’

“‘About £8 or £9.’

“‘Oh, that’s all right. I’ve got change.’

“He took my £20 and gave me £10 back. Not a bad mugging by any means.

“I have translated from Glasweigen regional dialect to Queen’s English for all you folks not lucky enough to be born in the central belt of Scotland.”[1]

“Teachers Who’ve had a Student Who Stubbornly Believed Easily Disprovable Things (Flat-Earth, Creationism, Sovereign Citizen), How Did You Handle It?”

DanWillHor wrote this:

“TL;DR. Do anything but blindly dismiss or humiliate a student willing to sincerely talk, learn, listen, and consider. I’d be a Moon landing hoax proponent to this day if my teacher dismissed me.

“Not a teacher, but I had a teacher very calmly and beautifully help me as a teen.

“I was about 14 and in full ‘I’m the awesomest thing ever’ mode. While not an edgelord, I had opinions and beliefs like never before because of hormones and sh[*]t (ha). I had phases of conspiratorial belief and was easily swayed by the last thing I’d watched on TV. This was the 1990s, so I’m lucky that the internet/YouTube wasn’t yet ubiquitous because I’d have likely gone nuts if so. Yet, the movie JFK and a random, bootleg Moon Hoax doc VHS had me a full believer in both conspiracies. Anyway…

“I take it upon myself to interrupt class one day when the science teacher discusses gravity and how gravity is calculated to ‘slingshot’ vessels through space. He then mentions the moon landings and I speak up like a clown. Instead of shouting me down or humiliating me, he took a very professional approach and offered to hear me out. In fact, he said to make a list of points to back up my argument that the entire class would discuss that Friday (a few days away) and he wanted my list of points on Thursday in order to also prepare. So, I basically copy every point the doc made in order to try to appear as intelligent as possible and hand it to him Thursday with gusto.

“Friday comes and he starts by saying, ‘Neither of us were on the Moon, so I cannot refute your belief no more than you can prove it with absolutes. Yet, let us check the likelihoods and/or sciences of each point.’

“He spent an hour calmly, rationally disproving each point posed by the documentary. The couple points that were more based in conspiracy than science he used logic to destroy. It sounds crazy, but it was the first time I even considered the notion of ‘for this to be true there has to be an army of people in on the conspiracy, all keeping quiet.’ He beat that by simply asking how well a secret lasts between us students and how quickly rumors spread among us. He didn’t disprove the belief I had and I didn’t immediately lose my belief of a Moon landing hoax, but it planted the notion that I should test and ask questions myself before believing what sounds good, entertaining, fun, intelligent, etc.

“I felt corrected, not humiliated. I was thankful. A good portion of my later love of science came from that day.”[2]

“Redditors Who Prevented Disasters of Any Magnitude, What DIDN’T Happen and Why?”

OptimusMatrix wrote this:

“I work as a loan officer at a credit union. An older gentleman and his wife came in frantic asking for a loan. They needed 3 grand [$3,000] immediately. Like in half an hour. I sat down and started to do the loan. It was then he told me that his daughter was a drug addict and was packing up her stuff to move with her boyfriend/convicted child molester out of state with her 6-year old-daughter. They needed the money to hire a lawyer to get emergency custody of his granddaughter. I pulled his credit, and when I saw it I knew it was going to come back as an immediate decline. I asked to be excused and walked a couple cubes down. I called our underwriting department and spoke to one. I told him, ‘Look, I don’t care if we don’t ever get our money back on this loan. This is about the life of a little girl literally at stake.’ He approved the loan for me. They had their money twenty minutes later and were flying out the door. A couple of weeks later, someone told me there was a gentleman up front waiting for me. I walked up front and the same man was standing there with a little girl. He didn’t say a word; he just wrapped his arms around me and hugged me and cried. The little girl said ‘thank you’ so much. I started crying. That interaction is still the highlight of my career and probably always will be. I still see him from time to time, and I’ve checked his account and he paid back every penny of that loan even though it took him a little longer than expected. This was two years ago and he still has custody of his granddaughter and she’s doing well. So I don’t know if this story fits here, but I think I had a hand in stopping imminent disaster.”[3]

“What are Some Subtle Signs of Poverty?”

Coffeeandcolor wrote, “My husband was working at a restaurant in 2015 and they were so slow they shut down for the month. He was getting unemployment, but it wasn’t much. I was working my [*]ss off trying to cover his half of the bills and wore my shoes down to nothing. I have Peggy Hill feet, so I just started wearing his shoes. Once his restaurant opened, we arranged our schedules so we worked opposite but a couple weeks in, they overlapped and his $9 [per hour] was more important than my $8.50 so I told my supervisor I had to leave early to give him the shoes. She nodded and let me go. The next day as I was leaving she called me into the office, and I thought I was going to get reamed for leaving early yesterday, but she had told the owner about it and they pitched in together to buy each of us a new pair of shoes. The owner then told me to get in her car and took me grocery shopping. She made sure we got name-brand food for the kids and ‘luxury’ items like pizza. I’ve worn out those shoes and eaten all the food, but I braided the laces into a keychain to remind myself how blessed we are.”

Kighla wrote, “One of my coworkers at the school I teach at bought a homeless child (a student) a pair of new shoes. I have never seen a child so excited by anything before.”[4]

“What is the Saddest Meal You’ve Ever Had?”

Daddioz wrote, “The last dinner my family had before we needed to put the family dog to sleep. It was planned, I was about 16 and the dog was only 1 year younger than I was. We were getting dinner ready, and the dog was watching us cook and prepare the food, and she just looked so sad… like she knew what was coming. She was so sick and old, and she’d been having lots of complications for months leading up to the day we arranged for her to be put down. Everyone at the table was just frowning and crying because of our poor dog…

“So my mom got up from the table, opened up the food pantry drawer, and said, ‘It’s Ruby’s last meal. She needs to have a goodbye party.’ Mom started with hotdogs and buns, smothered them with ketchup, mustard, relish, the works, and let Ruby just dig in to her heart’s content. That dog could EAT, too. We fed her chips, potato salad, cereal with milk, carrots… Mom even baked a cake, complete with frosting, and let Ruby eat the whole thing. 

“Ruby looked SO happy the rest of the day, and it made the rest of the family feel a bit better too… when we brought her to the vet that night, she was panting and just in such a good mood right until the end.

“To those who have lost a dog, they’ll know like I do that it feels like you’re losing not only a close family member, but truly a best friend… so that’s why it felt like that meal may have been one of the happiest, but also the saddest.”[5]

[1] Source: wyspirit, “What’s the weirdest thing a complete stranger has said to you?” Reddit. 26 April 2017 <http://tinyurl.com/n2xertw>.

[2] Source: Bhill68, “Teachers who’ve had a student that stubbornly believed easily disprovable things (flat-earth, creationism, sovereign citizen) how did you handle it?” Reddit. 1 April 2017 <http://tinyurl.com/luhj7zf >.

[3] Source: CONSTABEL, “Redditors who prevented disasters of any magnitude, what DIDN’T happen and why?” Reddit. 30 March 2017 <http://tinyurl.com/l2gd8jg>.

[4] Source: writeandknow, “What are some subtle signs of poverty?” Reddit. 14 March 2017 <http://tinyurl.com/hjz5qwq>.

[5] Source: brodymitchell, “What is the saddest meal you’ve ever had?” Reddit. March 2017 <http://tinyurl.com/lqzbecp>.

This entry was posted in Impressive and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

