“The Kid was Frantic”

On Sunday, 5 March 2017, in Charlotte County, Florida, Mathew Brown fished in a new spot: under a bridge. He said, “My dad called me and said he picked up steaks. So, I didn’t want to miss dinner. I believe God put me here.” He walked down to the water and saw an adult man and an eight-year-old boy under the bridge. Mr. Brown said, “I see the grown man start touching the boy’s chest, lift up his shirt, pull his pants down, and start assaulting him, and I screamed. I ran up across the bridge and tackled him.” The man tried to grab Mr. Brown’s groin and to break free, but Mr. Brown held the man down and called 911. He restrained the man until Charlotte County deputies arrived. Mr. Brown said, “The kid was frantic.” The boy told investigators that Mr. Brown “saved me.” Mr. Brown said about the sexual assault, “It is disgusting, it is really disgusting, and I think about my little neighbors who play on my streets. I just keep thinking about it. I don’t know how to feel. I am just glad that dude is not going to be touching that kid no more.” The suspect was arrested and held on $1.5 million bond in the Charlotte County Jail.

Source: Michael Paluska, “Sheriff: Good Samaritan saves child getting sexually assaulted underneath a bridge.” ABC News. 7 March 2017 <http://tinyurl.com/y9wcdcop>.

This entry was posted in Good Deeds, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

