“What are AWESOME Stories Involving Your Parents?”

1) NewClayburn wrote this:

“My parents would buy scratch-off tickets often. They’d give them to me to scratch off because I was a kid and it was exciting to me to scratch them off. Of course, since the lottery is pretty much rigged, we never won anything.

“After scratching off each ticket, I’d show it to my parents and ask, ‘I won?’ And they’d say ‘No. You didn’t win.’ 

“Then one day I scratch off a ticket and ask, ‘I won?’ And my dad says, ‘You won!’ I got really excited. ‘I won?’ ‘You won! You won a candy bar!’

“So we go into the convenience store and my dad says to go pick out my candy bar. I go grab a Snickers or something and head back to the counter. I put the candy bar on the counter and hand the cashier my ticket. And that was it. I had won something finally!

“So then as I grew up, any time the lottery or scratch-off tickets would come up, I’d tell the story about how I won a candy bar once. 

“When I was about 20, I said something about it again. ‘I won a candy bar once.’ My mom for some reason decided to come clean about it. ‘You didn’t win,’ she said. ‘Every time you’d ask us if you won, you looked so hopeful and then we’d say, “No, you didn’t win,” and you’d be disappointed. So Daddy just said you won. He went into the store with you and paid the guy for a candy bar and told him you’d be paying with a scratch-off ticket.’

“Turns out I’m just a loser like everyone else. Thanks, Dad!”

2) sofingclever wrote this:

“I’m a very average musician. I’m not awful, but I’m definitely not a unique talent. Picture every mediocre band that opened for a band you actually wanted to see … any band I’ve been in probably sounds about like that.

“My parents let a lot of sh[*]tty music happen in their basement, and they came to most of the shows. Like I said, it wasn’t completely awful, but looking back on it with adult eyes, I’m amazed they put up with all that noise. 

“I’m also flattered they came to all those shows. It’s really hard to appreciate how valuable time is as an adult when you’re 16.”

3) Back2Bach wrote this:

“Mom and Dad made all the difference in our elderly neighbor’s life. She was a sweetheart — a widow who couldn’t get around much, but loved her home, cat, and dog.

“Each week, my parents would do her grocery shopping for her (along with their own) and occasionally brought her a home-cooked Sunday dinner to brighten her week.

“Dad took care of her house repairs while Mom cleaned it, with help from me and my brother.

“There was room in our parents’ hearts to ‘adopt’ this special lady and to make her last years memorable and enjoyable.”

4) Mix_Master_Floppy wrote this:

“My mom would take me to the park, and we would play hide and seek together. I was maybe 4 or 5 at the time. The park was off of a main road, and it wasn’t the best area of town. [Once] I found a really good hiding spot where I climbed up into a big tractor tire. However, I also had a large amount of hearing loss at the time due to constant ear infections, so I [didn’t hear] her calling out my name when she didn’t think it was funny any more. She apparently couldn’t find me and actually got worried, thinking that I had left the park fencing and gone off to hide elsewhere. That’s when she saw a car pull up from the road and a kid get into the car and then the car drove off. She thought it was me. My mom did track and field all the way into college and also ran marathons just for fun. She hurdled the fence and chased after the car until it pulled into a store parking lot. She realized it wasn’t me, took down the license plate number, and sprinted back to the park to find me crying with the other mothers because I couldn’t find my mom after I came out of the tire. She ran this car down for 15 minutes one way. She had told me about this a couple of times because she [remembers] it as one of the scariest moments she’s ever experienced.

“Edit since it’s getting asked: She took the [license] plate number down so she could give it to the police just in case that kid was kidnapped. She still saw a small boy get picked up off the side of the road and the car just took off. She wanted to find me first, though, so she ran back. Nobody’s kid was missing from the park, but she still called the police and gave them the [license] plate number.”

FlappyBoobs commented, “Your mom sounds like the inspiration for the T1000 [the Terminator in T-2: Judgment Day]. Legend …”

5) Blaidd_Dwrg wrote this:

“One time my mum was driving me somewhere, and we went past two massive blokes having a scrap. They were both well over 6’ and built and they were properly thumping each other in the face to the point where blood was flying.

“My 5’2” middle-aged schoolteacher mum stopped her Ford Fiesta, got out, and started telling them off. Didn’t even raise her voice, she just used that calm ‘you’re in trouble’ voice some teachers can do. She separated them and made them walk away in opposite directions, leaving trails of blood from their messed-up faces. Then she got back in the car and drove off like nothing happened. I was speechless.”

Source: LucianoThePig, “Enough of Narcissistic Mums This, and Evil Dads That. Reddit, What are AWESOME Stories Involving Your Parents?” Reddit. 6 June 2017

http://tinyurl.com/y7xm2fkt

This entry was posted in Good Deeds, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

