A “Pretty Sweet Ending!”

On 20 August 2014, Jessie Wengert lost her wallet, which contained ten $100 bills, while on her way to Utah State University in Logan, Utah, where she is a student. She had recently returned from a Latter Day Saints mission in Birmingham, England, and her parents had given her the $1,000 to help her out until she could find work. She had lost the wallet when she stopped at a Phillips gas station in Brigham City, Utah. She said, “I remember going to the bathroom and leaving and not really thinking about it.” Later, of course, she realized that she had lost her wallet and the $1,000. She remembers thinking, “I don’t even know if I’m going to be able to go to school this semester, like I might have to move back home again.” Fortunately, Nashlah Bayayan found the wallet and money. She said, “I went to the bathroom and noticed a wallet sitting there. I grabbed it, naturally looked inside and saw $1,000 in $100 bills just sitting there tucked away.” On Facebook, she later wrote, “I froze. I didn’t know what to do. $1000 in free cash is very tempting!! Should I take the money? Should I just leave the wallet there and pretend nothing ever happened? Should I take it to the girl working at the gas station? Is taking money you found stealing?! I knew I had to do something, just walking away from it wasn’t an option for me. If I handed it off to someone else, they would be equally as tempted I’m sure, so then what?!” She tracked down the owner by finding an online family blog; she called Jessie’s mother. Nashlah said, “She mentioned her daughter was frantic and crying and all that. I actually kind of teared up while on the phone with her mom.” Jessie’s mother did not have her phone number, so Nashlah contacted Jessie’s sister, who contacted Jessie, saying, “This lady named Nash just messaged me and says she has your wallet.” Jessie drove to Murray, Utah, and met Nashlan, who gave her the wallet and the money. Jessie said, “It was a really humbling experience, just reminded me that there are good people in the world.” Nashlan said that the story of the lost wallet and money had a “pretty sweet ending!”

For Further Information: Devon Dolan, “Lost, loaded wallet leads to newfound friendship.” Contributing: Viviane Vo-Duc. Deseret News (Salt Lake City, Utah). 9 September 2014

http://tinyurl.com/nbhqpme

Here is a list of books, including some free eBooks, by David Bruce:

https://davidbruceblog.wordpress.com/david-bruce-books/

Check out the rest of https://davidbruceblog.wordpress.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment