Malyk Bonnet: “Now I Realize What I Did and Wow … It’s Really Awesome. I Mean, I Saved a Life!”

On 1 August 2015, 17-year-old Malyk Bonnet, a black man, was headed home after finishing his shift as a chef at a restaurant in north Montreal, Quebec, Canada, when he saw a man and a woman fighting at the bus stop. They asked him for money — they said they needed bus fare to a town named Laval. Mr. Bonnet was worried about the woman, so he bought the tickets and in order to stay close to the woman, he said that he was going to Laval. He actually lives in Montreal. Mr. Bonnet said, “My plan was to keep them in a public place where he wouldn’t hurt her. I decided to be friendly with the man and have him think I was his friend. I played my game and he seemed to trust me.” After arriving in Laval, he asked the couple to eat with him and gave them $50. During the meal, however, he left and called the police. Mr. Bonnet said, “I borrowed a cell phone from someone because mine had died and told police that it was an emergency, that someone had been kidnapped and were at this restaurant.” In fact, the woman’s family had reported her missing, and the police were searching for her. Lieutenant Daniel Guerin of the Laval Police Department said, “We had been looking for a 29-year-old woman who had been reported kidnapped by her former boyfriend. We knew that the man was not stable. He was recently in jail for violence and had been found guilty of assault and [making] death threats against her.” Mr. Bonnet said about the woman, “We made eye contact and she had tears in her eyes. She was really happy.” He added, “She was almost crying. She was so happy, so happy not to be with him.” Mr. Bonnet had spent $250 on bus fare and food; police officers collected that amount and reimbursed him. Lieutenant Guerin said, “He’s a real hero, we all think. His quick actions may have saved this young woman’s life. He now has 500 new friends in our department.” Mr. Bonnet said, “I don’t think of myself as a hero; I’m just a normal guy. I guess I saved a life, though, and that’s really awesome.” He said that his mother is proud of him: “She bought a lot of copies of the [news]paper and thinks all this attention is amazing. She told me she is going to tell my kids about this one day.” Police charged the man with kidnapping, forcible confinement, and assault. Lieutenant Guerin said about Mr. Bonnet, “He managed the situation very well and took good decisions that probably saved the life of this woman.” Mr. Bonnet said, “Now I realize what I did and wow … it’s really awesome. I mean, I saved a life!”

For More Information: Rachael Trost, “Teen Named a Hero After Saving Kidnapped Woman.” NBC News. 18 August 2015

http://tinyurl.com/qeu7z7b

For More Information: Laurie Hanna, “Teenager hailed a hero after he saves woman from kidnap by ex-boyfriend in Montreal.” New York Daily News. 22 August 2015

http://tinyurl.com/nlbqz95

Download free eBooks, including books for teachers, by David Bruce here:

https://davidbruceblog.wordpress.com/about-the-blogger/

Romance Books by Brenda Kennedy (Some Free)

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/smoothie2003

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

